Dreams IN MY Def.

Sometimes I like to flip through my dreams as if they were channels on a television
The tivo is always running and my dreams broadcast in M.D. My definition

When I was 4 years old it was my dream to fly, I would put my hands in the proper flying position and reach for the sky
and with the innocence of youth and naivety of childhood virtue I believed that I would use my skills in flying to do noble things too!
You know, things like getting kittens out of trees orCatching Alicia keys cause she was fall’n
Or flying to heaven to tell goddess that I heard momma say please.
But after enough failed attempts, cuts, scrapes and bruises
I determined that flying was strictly for losers
Because moments define themselves day after day
And that is when I realizes it was my dream that would fly away

“we regret to inform you that this dream broadcasted on this channel
due to the lack of funding and poor ratings has immediately been canceled”

When I was 12 years old it was my dream to bring my grandpa back
You see I didn’t understand what they meant when they said that grandpa had a one-way ticket on an endless track.
My 11 year old mind had a difficult time trying to understand or comprehend
That at the drop of a dime that wasn’t even mine you could just lose your best friend
And I remember that moment when I prayed on my knees
And gritted my teeth till my gums began to bleed
Shouted and cursed till my words began to leave
Dreamt and slept till my dreams began to flee
And that’s when I realized that grandpa, wasn’t coming back for me.

“We regret to inform you that this dream broadcasted on this channel
due to the lack of funding and poor ratings has immediately been canceled”

When I was 17 years old it was my dream to marry her
You know the three cars, 2 kids, 1 dog and an MTV crib in the burbs
She had me cakin for real, cause when I was with my boys I was the man of steel
But when she came around my voice would get softer than Shaquille O neal’s belly
and my knees would turn to jelly, at the thought of her name my stomach would turn
And for Her She kisses I would yearn, and you would think that I would learn right?
Heartbreak, it’s a part of life…. You just gotta wait your turn.
And that’s when she told me that like Usher, she had to let it burn

“We regret to inform you that this dream broadcasted on this channel
due to the lack of funding and poor ratings has immediately been canceled”

Last night I had a dream that I became a poet,
that I learned to rock rhymes with words and make words that would rock rhymes
Transcendent moments leave us suspended in time
Where our words live eternally in the consciousness of the people
and in the legacy that we leave
We will be revolutionaries of a generation that will stand against injustice
We will open our arms to embrace a stranger and proclaim that you cannot touch us
Our poetry will shake the foundation of hegemonic forces
Bringing them to their knees, transforming rambunctious mandates into silent soliloquies.
Last night I had a dream that I became a poet with the power to infect
Thee consciousness of those that are seeking
Take action with those that are willing
And hold hands with those that are loving
So that together we can witness the revealing
Take note when I say that the kingdom of heaven is at hand
Divided they will fall, united we will stand.
So this is our dream, broadcasted on this eternal channel.
Low ratings and poor funding be fucked, cause this is our dream
and it will never be canceled.

Leave a comment